6/19/2011 - 6/25/2011

New music this week is due from The Caretaker, Barn Owl, Keith Fullerton Whitman / Alien Radio, Jim O’Rourke & Oren Ambarchi, and Thisquietarmy + Yellow6 as well as old music from Death, Public Enemy, and Sugar.


Dave Alvin, "Eleven Eleven" (Yep Roc) CD
Ancestors, "Invisible White" (Tee Pee) EP
Architect, "Upload Select Remix" (Hymen) CD
Atari Teenage Riot, "Is This Hyperreal?" (Dim Mak)
August Burns Red, "Leveleer" (Solid State)
Barn Owl, "Shadowland" (Thrill Jockey) LP/CD
Black Dahlia Murder, "Ritual" (Metal Blade) CD/LP
Blanck Mass, "Blacnk Mass" (MRI)
Blaq Poet, "Blaq Poet Society" (Brick Records)
Bodies of Water, "Twist Again" (Secretly Canadian)
Bon Iver, "Bon Iver" (Jagjaguwar)
Cassettes Won’t Listen, "EVINSPACEY" (Daylight Curfew)
The Caretaker, "An Empty Bliss Beyond This World" (History Always Favours The Winners) CD/LP
Centro-matic, "Candidate Waltz" (Undertow Music Collective)
The Chain Gang of 1974, "Wayward Fire" (Modern Art)
Converge/Dropdead, "Split" (Deathwish, Inc./Armageddeon Label)
The Crimson Armada, "Conviction" (Artery Recordings)
Dakota Suite - The Hearts Of Empty (Karaoke Kalk) CD
Deadbeat, "Drawn and Quartered" (BLKRRTZ) CD
*Death, "Human" (Relapse)
Dekapitator, "We Will Destroy…You Will Obey!" (Relapse)
The Devin Townsend Project, "Deconstruction Ghost" (InsideOut Music)
Diamond Plate, "Generation Why?" (Earache)
Diamond Rings, "Special Affections" (Astralwerks)
Digitalism, "I Love You, Dude" (V2)
Idrissa Diop, "Cheikh Tidiane Tall" (Teranga Beat) CD/2xLP
Dying Fetus, "Grotesque Imapement; Purification Through Violence" (Relapse) LP
Tim Easton & The Freelan Brothers, "Beat the Band" (Campfire Propaganda)
Ed Gein, "Bad Luck" (Black Market Activities)
Evile, "Five Serpent’s Teeth" (Earache)
Father's Children, "Who's Gonna Save The World" (Numero Group)
Liam Finn, "FOMO" (Yep Roc)
Fit For An Autopsy, "The Process of Human Extermination" (Black Market Activities)
*Roberta Flack, "Killing Me Softly" (Atlantic)
FM Belfast, "Don’t Want To Sleep" (Morr Music)
Follow That Bird, ""Wooden Bones" 7?" (Mt. Fuji)
Forest Swords, "Fjree Feather" (No Pain In Pop)
General Surgery, "Necrology" (Relapse)
Gomez, "Whatever’s On Your Mind" (ATO) CD
Grieves, "Together/Apart" (Rhymesayers)
Grown Ups, "Handholder" 7? (Doghouse Records)
The Head, "Hang On" (self release)
Head Cat, "Walk the Walk…Talk the Talk" (Niji Entertainment)
Heights, : "Dead Ends" (Mediaskare)
Helms Alee, "Weatherhead" Hydra Head)
Howling Hex, "Victory Chimp, A Book" (Drag City)
Iceage, "New Brigade" (What’s Your Rupture?)
In Flames, "Sounds of a Playground Fading" (Century Media)
Jackmaster, "Fabriclive 57" (Fabric)
The Japanese Popstars, "Allegiance" (Astralwerks)
JEFF The Brotherhood, "We Are The Champions" (Infinity Cat Recordings)
Jungle Rot, "Kill In Command" (Victory)
John Paul Keith, "The Man That Time Forgot" (Fat Possum)
Jessika Kenney & Eyvind Kang, "Aestuarium" (Ideologic Organ / Mego) LP
Kenneth Kirschner, "Twenty Ten" (12k) 3xCD
Knuckle Up!, "Motivation From Misery" (Mediaskare)
The Knux, "Eraser" (Cherrytree/Interscope)
Seun Anikulapo Kuti & Egypt 80, "From Africa With Fury: Rise" (Knitting Factory) CD
Laurel Halo, "Hour Logic" (Hippos In Tanks) EP
Barbara Lüneburg, "Weapon of Choice" (Ahornfelder)
Madeline, "Black Velvet" (Happy Happy Birthday to Me) CD/LP
Making Friendz, "Social Life" (Last Bummer Records)
Marian, "Only Our Hearts To Lose" (Freude) CD
Stephan Mathieu, "To Describe George Washington Bridge" (Dekorder) 10"
Meekos & Me, "Anxious Little Turtles" (self release)
Minerva Lions, "Great Strides, Priestess & Queen" (Dubshot Records) EP
Miss May I, "Monument" deluxe edition (Rise)
Momus, "The Thunderclown" (Tona Serenad) 10"
New Year’s Day, "The Mechanical Heart" (Hollywood Waste) EP
The Nighty Nite, "Dimples (Graveface) EP
Jim O’Rourke, "Old News #5" (Old News) LP/CD
Jim O’Rourke & Oren Ambarchi, "Indeed" (Editions Mego) LP/CD
OK Go, "180/365" (Paracadute) LP/CD
Pain, "You Only Live Twice" (Nuclear Blast) LP/CD
The Parlotones, "Live Designs" (MRI) CD
Pentagram, "First Daze Here; First Daze Here Too" (Relapse) LP
*Phurpa, "Trowo Phurnag Ceremony" (Ideologic Organ / Mego) 2xLP
Pontiak, "Comecrudos" (Thrill Jockey) LP/CD
Priory, "Priory" (Expunged Records)
* Public Enemy, "Bring The Noise: The Hits, Vids, and Docs Box" (Rocket Science) 3xCD+3xDVD
S.O.S., "I Owe You Nothing" (Good Fight Music)
Sven Schienhammer, "Altostratus Translucidus" (Bine) CD
Ty Segall, "Goodbye Bread" (Drag City)
Serengeti, "Family & Friends" (Anticon)
Matthew Shipp/Beans/William Parker/Hprism, "Knives From Heaven" (Thirsty Ear)
Sorry Bamba, "Volume One 1970-1979" (Thrill Jockey)
Sourvein, "Black Fangs" (Candlelight)
*Spring Offensive, "Pull Us Apart" (Burning Building Records)
*Suede, "A New Morning" (Demon)
*Sugar, "Copper Blue" (Rykodisc) LP
Symphony X, "Iconoclast" (Nuclear Blast)
Tally Hall, "GOOD & EVIL" (Quack! Media)
John Tejada, "Parabolas" (Kompact) CD/LP
Telepathe, "Throw Away This" (Whtie Iris) 7"
These Trails, "These Trails" (Drag City)
Thisquietarmy + Yellow6, "Valley" (Basses Frequences) LP
Tunabunny, "(Song for My) Solar Sister / Airport" (Happy Happy Birthday to Me) 7"
Turbid North, "Orogeny" (Ironclad Recordings)
Unknown Mortal Orchestra, "Unknown Mortal Orchestra" (Fat Possum)
Chad Valley, "Equatorial Ultravox" (Cascine) EP
Vanna, "And They Came Bearing Bones" (Artery)
Ricardo Villalobos & Max Loderbauer, "Re:ECM" (ECM) CD
Voivod, "Warriors Of Ice" (Sonic Unyon)
*Holcombe Waller, "Into The Dark Unknown" (Napoleon Records)
When Saints Go Machine, "Konkylie" (!K7)
White Hills, "H-p-1" (Thrill Jockey)
Keith Fullerton Whitman / Alien Radio, "Keith Fullerton Whitman / Alien Radio" (Dekorder) LP
White Wizzard, "Flying Tigers" (Earache)
Witches, "Forever" (Bakery Outlet)
World’s End Girlfriend, "Seven Idiots" (Erased Tapes)
Yacht, "Shangri La" (DFA) LP/CD